top of page
  • Writer's pictureR. J. Miller

Not Cut out for Home-Schooling?

One of my adventures in home-schooling.


When my oldest son was in sixth grade, I decided to home-school him via an internet school. He was a chubby boy and had been getting bullied every day on his walk to and from school. His self-esteem was at an all-time low. I prayed about it and felt I needed to home-school. I dropped out of my School of Ministry classes telling my pastor's wife/teacher why. She supported me. A year later, I know it was time to get him back into regular school. I didn't have the time to supervise him as a single mom, and his grades were reflecting this.


That year, he had grown about six inches. He grew straight up out of his baby fat, and we had moved to a different school district. He now towered over all the kids in his new class. He was now popular because of his size, but he chose to do what was right, and not hang out with the wrong crowd.


My son struggled with reading, he still does, but he has learned the life-skills to fight for what he wants, and not quit. He’s currently an art major in his fourth year at college. His younger brother who is an avid reader, and hasn’t had the challenges he had, hasn’t pressed through with his college career with the same gusto.


I want to encourage you to keep praying, and keep pushing forward no matter what your child’s education currently looks like. God knows what the future holds, and if we trust and rest in His unfailing arms, it will be better than we could ever imagine. My school teacher mother had hoped and prayed my oldest would just make it through high school, and now he's in college through the adaptations they have made for learning disabilities. My son is definitely an audio learner, like his mother.


14 views0 comments
bottom of page